Skip to main content

Native American Education

pps logo








REMINDER:  Cherokee Nation Angel Project Signups Going On Now

Cherokee Nation


Applications due Friday, November 10, 2023.  Visit the Gadugi Portal to apply.

PHS Take Second in the Cherokee Cultural Competition

Cherokee Students


PHS Cherokee language students secure second place in the Cherokee Cultural Competitions.

Pryor students under the guidance of Cherokee Nation First Language Speaker Emma Dorman, brought home cash rewards of $40.00 each. Fourteen teams gathered today at the Greasey Immersion School in Bunch, Oklahoma for the Cherokee Challenge Bowl events.


What is Johnson O’Malley (JOM)?

 JOM is a federal program whose main objective is to ensure Tribal citizens receive educational opportunities that would not otherwise be provided through the public school system. JOM is a supplemental program providing special services to JOM Students based on the needs of individual communities


JOM 2023 Meeting Dates

  • February 13, 2023
  • April 10, 2023
  • May 8, 2023
  • June 12, 2013
  • August 28, 2023
  • October 3, 2023 (Election Meeting)
  • October 10, 2023
  • December 11, 2023

*All meetings will be held in the Roosevelt Elementary Library.

JOM Meetings begin at 6:00 PM. Title VI begin at 6:10 PM.


JOM Parent Committee

Chair: Kelly Brown

Vice Chair: Crystal Walters

Secretary: Beth Stutzman

Member: Savannah Ellison

Member: Forrest Woolman

Coordinator: Mariah Thomas

Student Representative: Adelynn McWhirt


Cherokee Nation

Our Education Partner

Pryor Public Schools appreciates its partnership with Cherokee Nation. They provide many great opportunities, youth camps, scholarships, and resources for our learners. For more information about our partner in education, please visit the Cherokee Nation Website.


PPS Site JOM Coordinators

Jefferson Elementary: 

Erin King

LECC & Lincoln Elementary: 

Maurene Russell

Roosevelt Elementary: 

Sara Melugin

Pryor Middle School:

Brittany Nichols

Pryor High School:

Emma Dorman

District Coordinator:

Mariah Thomas