Skip to main content

Board of Education

pps logo


President Fred Sordhal
President Fred Sordhal
Vice President Paul Melchior
Vice President Paul Melchior
Clerk Wes Miller
Clerk Wes Miller
Member Dean Robertson
Member Dean Robertson
Member Branson Perry
Member Branson Perry


Monday, January 9, 2023

Regular Board Meeting

Procedural Item 

Call to Order; record of members present, establish quorum 

Pledge of Allegiance 

Review and approval of Minutes of December 5, 2022 

Public Comment 


Presentation of district audit by David Clanin - Auditor 

Consent Agenda 

Approval of Treasurer's Report 

Approval of Encumbrance Report & Other Expense Reports for 2022-2023. 

Approval of sub-accounts, fundraisers and raffles for the 2022-2023 school year as presented. Approval of Amendment to the District's contract with Tyler Technologies, Inc. 

Approval of the Baseball Team to travel to Gulf Shores, AL to play in the Gulf Coast Classic #1 Tournament, March 10-17, 2023, using school transportation. 

Approval for Victor Holleyman and the Honors Anatomy and Physiology classes to travel to Springdale, AR to tour the John Brown University cadaver lab on April 13 and April 20, 2023, using school transportation. 

Approval of the High School LifeSmarts Program to travel out-of-state for the LifeSmarts National Competition, April 27 - 30, 2023 in Cincinnati. OH. 

Approval of secondary English Language Arts (ELA) textbook committee. 

Approval of declaring items in Appendix A as surplus. 

Approve Consent Agenda Items A-I (These items may be approved by one Board motion, unless any Board member desires to have a separate vote on any or all of these items). 

Action Agenda 

Voted to enter into executive session pursuant to tit. 25, §307B.1 to discuss the following items: Any resignations or retirements tendered: Hiring the following Classified positions: Michael Ford - District Custodian, Tia Clark - High School Paraprofessional; discuss employment of the superintendent. [Title 25 O.S. Section 307 (B1)]; and (6) Considering the appeal of denied student transfers with a review of

confidential educational records and transfer requests of students whereby disclosure of any additional information could potentially violate FERPA, pursuant to Okla. Stat. tit.25 § 307(B)(7). 

Returned to Open Session 

Statement of executive session minutes 

Voted to approve the resignations of Teva Egnor – LECC paraprofessional and Makenzie Hill – LECC paraprofessional. 

Voted to approve or not approve the hiring the following Non-Certified positions for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year: Hiring the following Non-Certified positions: Michael Ford - District Custodian, Tia Clark - High School Paraprofessional. All Personnel will be hired by one vote unless any Board member desires to have a separate vote on any or all listed personnel. 

Voted to approve hiring staff for the Tiger Pride After School Program as presented. Voted to grant the transfer requested via student transfer appeals. 

Voted to approve revisions to the District's Return to Learn Plan for the 2022-2023 school year. Voted to approve revisions to the School District Budget for the 2022-2023 school year. 

Voted to approve extra duty, professional development stipends and salary adjustments as submitted for the 2022-2023 school year. 

Voted to approve allowing interest income to be deposited into any fund account that is appropriate as determined by the superintendent and treasurer. 

Board discussion of Superintendent's evaluation. 

Voted to approve the employment of the Superintendent. 

Superintendent's Report 

January is School Board Appreciation Month. We are so grateful for the service of our board members: Fred Sordahl, Paul Melchior, Wes Miller, Dean Robertson, and Branson Perry. Our district is so  fortunate to have School Board members who are dedicated to our learners and do so much to provide  resources and opportunity for our students.  

Two former educators at Pryor Public Schools will be inducted this month into the Oklahoma Music  Educators Hall of Fame. Herchel Avra, retired Choir Director and Auditorium Director, and Roy  Jackson, retired Band Director, were both named as members of the 2023 class. 

The Pryor Pom Squad is the State Runner-Up in this year’s 5A Small Squad Hip Hop division.  Congratulations to the team members for their hard work and success. 

The Pryor Middle School 8th Grade Band, under the direction of Collin Stout, was selected as an Honor Group for the 2023 OkMEA Conference. The band will perform as a part of the Thursday, January 19 honor band program at the Tulsa Performing Arts Center (downtown Tulsa) beginning at

7:00pm. It is quite an honor to be selected as a performing group for the OkMEA Conference. Several bands applied and only six groups were chosen by the committee to perform. 

6. New Business 

7. Adjourn